Overestimating what you have

“Change is hard because people overestimate the value of what they have—and underestimate the value of what they may gain by giving that up.” James Belasco and Ralph Stayer Flight of the Buffalo (1994)

This quote raises a very interesting question about what impedes our path on our way to being our true self.  A good example for me was this morning.  I didn’t want to meditate.  I was feeling OK, not great, but good enough that I felt I could just keep Don't overestimate your situationon working.  I overestimated the quality of my mind.  In short, I settled.

Luckily, I did sit for my 20 minutes, and when I opened my eyes at the end, I felt lighter.  I felt in touch.  I had noticed reoccurring thoughts that I hadn’t noticed when my eyes were open.  I had underestimated the power of the 20 minutes.

That is just a small example, but if you look, I’m sure you can find 100 things in your daily life that you are interested in doing, but have overestimated your level of contentment.  A conversation with your spouse, a run, a personal project, an unsent email, a book half way read, etc.  As well, it might even be in the realm of not doing.  Turning the TV off earlier, drinking less, or getting less angry or impatient.

Whatever it is, ask yourself if with a little bit of effort, “what small act would allow me to navigate the resistance on the road to being my true self?   For me it was just sitting an closing my eyes.  What is yours?

Leave a Reply

